Let’s Talk Training: Misc. Info and I Love Family Visits!

Friday workout: 13 mile bike ride + 3.75 mile run

Saturday workout: 21m ile solo bike ride + yoga

Sunday workout: Hot Chocolate 15k

Tuesday workout: 4 miles @ 8:38pace + Jillian Michael’s Ripped in 30

P’s mom was in town so we did some fun stuff. In true to Ash/P form we went for a bike ride:

Ate at RK sushi

 as well as Naked Café.

P’s mom seemed to really love Naked, I am tempted to run out and eat there again this weekend. It’s so good.

We did some yoga.

We picked up our race stuff and saw puppys for adoption…omg ❤

I love hosting and I can’t wait to have a place big enough to really accommodate a few guests/game nights/dinner parties.

P’s mom is an amazing house guest and I find myself trying to take in everything she says because she hands out yoda-wisdom effortlessly.

Let’s talk training: Race and general running stuff every runner should know.

SO, you’re a runner, here are some things everyone should know.

  •  
  • When you sign up, you normally put a projected pace in. Be honest on this! This pace will determine your corral in many races. Fastest runners start first, and it moves back to the equally bad ass walkers. Corrals help prevent congestion, respect them.
  • Make sure you pee before you run. Holding it sucks.
  • Eat a breakfast that works for you. I could run on half of a medium pizza, but that’s me. I have friends who can barely stomach half a Clif Bar that early in the morning. If this is your first race ever, you should always do a full dress rehearsal on your longest training run. Get up early, wear your race outfit; eat your race-day breakfast etc. You will learn what works and what doesn’t before you are on the race course.
  • I usually stop drinking water 30 min before I leave my house/hotel/friends floor, which is usually about 90+ minutes until the start. I hydrate like crazy the days before in an effort to make sure I am as hydrated on race day as possible.
  • Some runners like to grab an old sweatshirt or long sleeve that they wear for pre-race through mile 2-ish, then it gets tossed to the side of the course, let’s prevent tripping our fellow runners, yeah. These items are collected and donated to charity.

Most of all, have fun. Whether you are running or training, try not to be that person screaming at people to get out of the way. Share the road, share the love and enjoy the ride!

My sister just sent me Born to Run and Mile Markers.  Mayhaps there is an ultra in my future! 🙂

Any other random tips or running ettiquette that you wish someone had told you?

9 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Training: Misc. Info and I Love Family Visits!

  1. I ran at the Hot Chocolate race too…thought it was overall a good time!
    My etiquette peeves are people who do the run/walk intervals, or are slowing down, in the middle of the road. I think it’s a great strategy and works for a lot of people but it’s much nicer when they stick to the side. When I ran the Tinkerbell Half, it was my first half, so I was in the back of the pack, people stopped running in front of me to walk all the time and in every direction. Drove me nuts. That’s all. It’s great, but sticking to the side is nice for the people who want to go around you.

  2. Um, I love P’s mom. Seriously she is awesome!!! I wish I could have Yoga’d with you all.

    Great tips!! Another- if you have to shoot a snot rocket please look behind you before doing so. Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

  3. I have a question for you! I will be meeting a friend (who’s from Seattle) in San Diego on Friday and was wondering where the best place to eat would be for lunch! I know it’s probably hard to choose since there’s so many good places, but you seem to always be suggesting restaurants that look good, so I figured I would ask. I live more inland so I don’t get to go to SD as often. Thanks!!

    1. Lunch places that top my list 🙂
      Downtown or Hillcrest: Chocolat. It’s a crepe/bistro place that is KILLER.
      A litte more pricey but SO worth the view: C Level at Island Prime
      If it’s sunny and you’re looking for a good sandwich: Cheese Shop (either downtown or in La Jolla)

      Those were the first that came to mind 🙂 have fun!!!

      1. Thanks for the recommendations!! We went to Chocolat!…Absolutely amazing! Will definitely be going back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

