A Wedding and Let’s Talk Training: Supplements

Weekend workouts:

Friday: 26 mile bike ride

Saturday: 5 miles and some change of running

After a VERY rainy and cold weekend P and I stumbled into the house and pretty much straight to bed last night. We took the coast home because from Monterey, it only adds 45 min and we weren’t trying to get stuck on a snowy Grapevine. I finally got to see some of LA (I’ve never taken a proper trip to LA or Hollywood) and I don’t really have any desire to go back and visit… Unless someone can tell me where the pretty, visit-worthy stuff may be. It looked like a hot, overcrowded mess. Someone please tell me I’m wrong!

So, this weekend:

We biked.

We visited downtown Carmel (amazing).

We saw my best friend get married (and nearly froze).

We visited P’s Grandparents who so graciously let us stay with them:

We visited Cannery Row:

All in all it was a wonderful weekend. Every day my knee feels a little better and I think the new shoes are helping a lot. Monterey felt like Maine all weekend. It was storming and blustery, it snowed and hailed and rained non stop. Despite the crazy weather, P and I had a blast visitin the area where I (and his mom’s family) grew up. I miss Northern California like nobody’s business. While we are on the subject of running, training and all things sweat-worthy…

Let’s Talk Training

Supplements: Gels/Protein/Beverages

This section (and the next) of the awesome, soon to be patented/trademarked/published, Laura’s Gonna Run Training Plan, is probably going to be the hardest for me, because these things are so much more about personal choice than anything else, but for what it’s worth here is my opinion on supplements.

Protein: I like protein shakes, I don’t like fake sugar. Actually I really really love Splenda, but I hate the artificial sugar bloat. I have found some powders without any fake sugar that also manage to be pretty low carb. These proteins don’t taste like heaven the way the 300 cal versions do, but they are pretty good, mix them in your oatmeal or yogurt or make my awesome protein bars. To be honest, I hardly use protein anymore, but when you need the post-workout boost, or if you are like my sister who is always on the run, they can be totally convenient.

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Naturals

MSM Natural Vanilla Protein (sweetened with Stevia)

Protein bars are pretty much candy with a protein boost, I also use these sparingly. I just make my own now, but in a pinch I like:

PROmax LS (sweetened with Stevia) pretty much your standard protein bar

PowerCrunch (Sweetened with Stevia) these are like a wafer cookie with creamy frosted filling, totally different from your average protein bar and SO good

During a race I alternate between Gu Gels and ShotBloks. Gels have the consistency of frosting and are delicious, Bloks are like square gummy chews.

I like the varieties with caffeine, but be careful. I think I ate too many during my marathon and got super jittery which is NOT fun when you are racing. Bloks can be harder to chew while running so some people prefer the Gels. I find that when I bonk hard on a run or a ride, either of them work fine. I also carry craisins or dried mango on rides and runs when I’m not racing because they do the same thing without a caffeine boost, and taste delicious.

I take on some form of calorie during any run longer than 9 or 10 miles usually. I don’thave a method for when I take them, just listen to your body. If I feel like I am really slowing down and have low energy, I’ll eat 2 or 3 ShotBloks to see if it helps (67-100 cals). If I am bike riding and don’t have time constraints, I’ll often stop for a skinny mocha which works wonders. Ha!

Beverages: I don’t like Gatorade or anything like that during workouts, it’s too sweet and ends up splashing on me and getting everything sticky.  I finish my run looking like my niece Lilli after she has been left alone with a bag of Jolly Ranchers for about 20 minutes.

I don’t get all fanatical about many things but NUUN is one of them. I get debilitating cramps when I run and NUUN is amazing. It’s really lightly flavored, comes in a convenient tab form and is packed with electrolytes. I use it on any long workouts and especially really hot days. Electrolytes prevent cramps, which is super important for me (bananas also pack a mean electrolyte punch).

There you have it, my favorite supplements. You’ll find what works best for you. I have lots of random quirks like eating oatmeal before a run gives me cramps, and after a long run I always want a giant steak salad and a beer. I can run 10 miles after eating half of a pizza and not feel sick, but friggin’ Quaker Oats gets me every time. Some people run in a fasted state, some eat a little, some a lot, but at least this will give you an idea of some new things you might want to try.

Did anyone race this weekend? Tell me all about it, for real I get geeked out about this stuff. Does anyone have awesome advice to offer? Mayhaps something related to running in the snow since Eastern Nevada where my sis is at, is covered in 2ft of snow!

4 thoughts on “A Wedding and Let’s Talk Training: Supplements

  1. I adore that dress you wore to the wedding!! Where did you get it?

    Great race at Rock n Roll USA this weekend. Well, I didn’t do anything spectacular, but I got to run with my husband while he PR’d by a full minute! So proud. 🙂

    1. The dress was from Forever 21, it was a total hit in the game of “hit and miss” haha. Thank you. Running with a partner is seriously the most amazing thing ever, right? I love running with P more than anything. Congrats to your hubbs!!!

Leave a Reply

