Protein Bars and Upsidedown Heaven

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!!!! Here are some delicious eats to make your honey, or have them make for you! ❤ 

Ok, I have been on this pineapple upside down cake kick for a while now. I searched EVERYWHERE for a recipe, but they all were super unhealthy and I wanted something I could eat a piece of every day. I took a recipe and tweaked it to a healthier version of the awesome old lady classic that is PUDC.

Since I used very little fat in the recipe this cake has a consistency that is almost exactly like my Oma’s German Struedel. It’s a dense, moist affair as opposed to something light and fluffy. You get a large piece for only 150ish calories, and it tastes AMAZING.

recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=320814 <– original recipe

Pineapple Upsidedown Cake

 1/3 c. unsweetened apple sauce

1/2 c. packed light-brown sugar

1 bag of pineapple tidbits from Trader Joes, defrosted

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

3/4 c. unsweetened almond milk

1/3 c. liquid egg whites

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray 9in baking pan with nonstick spray;

line with a strip of parchment paper, leaving an overhand on two sides.

Sprinkle bottom of pan with 1/4 cup sugar.

Arrange pineapple in pan

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together almond milk, egg whites, vanilla, applesauce, and remaining 1/4 cup sugar.

Add flour mixture; mix just until combined.

 Pour batter over pineapple. Tap pan firmly on counter to settle batter, then smooth top.

Bake until toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, 20-30 minutes. Cool 20 minutes in pan; invert onto serving platter.

Makes: 8 servings

I LURVE protein bars, the downside is that they are prettttty much candy bars. Let’s be real. So instead of paying $4 a pop for fancy protein bars I made my own. Booya.

adapted from this recipe http://askgeorgie.com/?p=4376

Chocolate Banana Protein Bars

They look like this without the fancy coconut business on top.

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in large bowl until just blended

Bake at 350F for 15Min or until baked through

Serves 4

Look at those macros! 😀

4 thoughts on “Protein Bars and Upsidedown Heaven

  1. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!! I think I’m going to try making it this weekend… I have yet to see actual brown sugar (besides just natural raw sugar), and I’m not sure how easy applesauce is to find but I think I can make it work 🙂

Leave a Reply

