I am the Captain of my Soul

Workouts: not enough lately. It’s like an injury and not dieting anymore has made me slack. I mean not too badly, but I am stepping up my A game and not missing a single workout for the rest of February. I’m still doing the same old cycling either on the trainer or out on the road and Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30.

Last week every spare moment looked like this:

Sunshine!!! I was really hoping that my birthday would be warm like last year, but sadly it is a cold dreary day. However, IT’S MY BIRTHDAY. I can do anything I want, like start sentences with “however”.

If there was a year for the “best bday presents received award” this could be it. The only competition would be my 22nd bday when both of my sisters surprised me  (driving from 4-7 hours each) I don’t really know how to top that one. I feel so incredibly fortunate to have such loving friends and family.

Phil took me shopping on Saturday, it was like a princess day for Ashley. I was in heaven. We started off the day with an 18mi bike ride in the early a.m., went to yoga and met up with Andrea and HRM. Thanks for coming girl. I am lovin’ the yoga, and think that Shannon and Linzay should join us the next time! The only part about yoga that I struggle with (mentally) is the breathing, I feel like a total turd breathing really loudly and “letting go”. I was in front of HRM and in every downward dog all I could think was, “WOW, this girl is ripped”. I would not want to get in a fight with that woman. She may be petite, but she looks like she could throw a mean right hook. 😉

After yoga I went to coach training for Girls On The Run. I found, thanks to a comment on my blog, a wonderful cause to support. I’ll be supporting 3rd-5th grade girls here in La Jolla as an assistant coach this season. The message that GOTR encourages is really in line with what I am trying to embrace as a 24 (!) year old. Self love, confidence and health, but this message is directed a young girls which I think is awesome. I’m so excited to spend some time helping out and eventually running a 5k with these girls.

I can’t wait to check back in on the 29th with a full report of my workout dedication awesomeness. Ok, that’s cheesy, but for real, it’s never too late to set some mini goals that will boost morale when accomplished.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Valentine’s Eve. Go show someone some love. I’ll be enjoying my cake day.

11 thoughts on “I am the Captain of my Soul

  1. Waiiiiiiiiitttt aaaaa mmiiiiinnnnnnnutttteeeeeee!!!! IT WAS YOUR BDAY?!?!? AND YOU DIDN’T TELL ME?!?! Awww man, I feel like a super turd!!

    Happy Birthday my friend!!!! I owe you a birthday drink! Or desert! Or whatever! I hope you had the best day ever (next to your sissy surprise birthday!).

    Big huggssssssss to you!!! xxoo

    P/S Ripped? Me? Dude, I felt like a crazy person too. Thanks for inviting me, I loved it! So going again (and my sis too!)

Leave a Reply

