‘Cause I’m Sick, Foo

Monday workout: supposed to be an easy 3 but with my awesome skeelz I made it 3.6 miles, slow pace and REALLY hard + JM Ripped in 30

Tuesday workout: 40 min run, slower than slow… + JM Ripped in 30. Can I feel better yet?

I have been sick for over 2 weeks now. Not fun, I tell you. I’m on my second round of antibiotics and while they are probably doing their little bacteria killing job, they are also making me SO tired and lightheaded. It’s extra awesome because I don’t feel sick, I’m just dragging ass. It’s like I don’t have a legit barf bag so that people know I’m not on my A game. Not cool.

I had a 40 min tempo run last night, and I knew I had to get seriously pumped up, because all I wanted to do was sleep for about 16 hours. I also knew that the tempo run was going to be a sad excuse for speed training, but it is what it is right now. So without further ado let me introduce you to the much needed motivation that I compiled. I’ll be referring back to this all week.

From Yesterday:

First off some quotes by my lovely P. He is a wonderfully talented writer.

“you have the soul of an 18th century Parisian lover, the heart of a lioness, the guile of a politician, the mind of a queen and the dreams of… well… the dreams of a young girl for whom the entire world is open and full of endless possibilities♥”

 “Harness the power and strength within yourself against the uncertainty that teases your dreams”

This one is from my running day planner that was a gift from my sister for Christmas.

This one was on a necklace that I saw in Big Sur.

Oh and this, if this doesn’t get my rear end moving, I need rest more than anything else. Diet Mountain Dew is my fave guilty soda, it’s like crack in a bottle without the nasty habit forming side effects or potential jail time. Amiright?

Team SoMuchCoolerOnline was fully fitted out with Aspaeris Compression Shorts for each team member. I have compression socks, but hadn’t tried shorts yet, and I am happy to say they are pretty awesome.  I never thought I would be rocking the long shorts look, but if it helps me recover faster I’ll do it. I don’t have anything to compare them to, but they are super tight without being uncomfortable, and pretty much suck everything in like Spanx.

 

Sandy from BIC bands has also joined the Ragnar Team and I am so geeked out about this I can’t even explain. I have a freaky shaped melon, like the back of my head is totally flat, which makes my ponytails reallll cute. Not. My sister says it’s from my mom leaving me on my back too much as a kid… lame. My abnormal melon causes major issues with headbands, they just slip off. When I discovered the shnazzy bands that have velvet on the inside to help them stick I was all about it. I feel like no matter who makes the “no slip” bands, they all seem to work great, but Sandy donates a portion of her proceeds to charity, so I like BIC bands more. She hooked it up with a couple of the sparkly bands at the meetup, Thank You Sandy!

Is it appropriate to wear a sparkly headband to work? I say yes, but then again I wear jeans and flip flops to work sometimes.

Does anyone know how long it takes to feel 100% after an infection, because I am SO ready to be at 100% again? Thanks to HRMs advice regarding stretching my ITB and PF, I know that I can be pain free if I devote approx 40min a day to stretching. I’m doing it. I just want to run STRONG again

7 thoughts on “‘Cause I’m Sick, Foo

  1. Haha, I was totally wondering just the other day if I could justify wearing a sparkly BIC band to work. I threw caution to the wind and went for it. Today I have the navy one with the different colored hearts 🙂 And I then I went to a meeting with a transplant surgeon and almost regretted my headband decision. Almost 😉

Leave a Reply

