BIG NEWS!

My workouts have been boring to blog about but killer for me.

Every day: 30-70 (more often 60) min on the bike + trainer  and Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30

All of the Jillian Michaels workout vids that I have done are consistently 3 things:

1. A little cheesy and annoying (Hey JM, those kettlebells you have painted on to the wall? Not foolin’ me lady)

2. Short and sweet, 20-30 min for Ripped in 30 and the 30 Day Shred

3. Great for toning. I’ve been able to consistently tone and sculpt using my little 5lb weights and occasionally one 10lb.

March 2011, when I was JM-ing it up like a pro

If you are looking for an easy toning routine and are a little hesitant of cardio classes, like SR,  I’d say try these bad boys for a month.

I have been toying around with not mentioning the big news on my blog. Upon reflection I realized that any negativity I get from this will be a lesson learned or something. I know good and bad comments will abound regarding this topic and I am going to have to be ok with that. On the real, this blog is about my training and my movement away from unhealthy dieting to a healthy lifestyle. So any news I have regarding these topics, I want to share.

*p.s. Phil was happy I swear, he just gets pouty when he is hungry 😉

Well, I did it. I achieved my 1st ultimate goal.

For the record, I don’t weigh myself, at this point I don’t even have a full-length mirror in my house because it was making me a little crazy, so my goal was never weight related but more of a pant size and body shape thing. My goal was to be an XS top, and a size 25 pant.

I started implementing the components of a healthy life in November 2010. For me, the first step was eating at least 1200 calories a day, no matter what. I also started to eat more on big workout days. Over the course of 2011 I made some big changes:

cupcakes are a “go” on off days 🙂

-I implemented a “day off” policy where I take my big workout day (usually 1000+ calories burned) and eat pretty much whatever I want. Yes, this means I do work on Ben and Jerrys or eat 2 PB&J sandwiches from time to time. Usually I eat 2000-3000 calories on this day. It’s the best. thing. ever.

-I started strength training. Just light stuff 30 min a few times a week

20 milers!

-I increased my miles per week by quite a bit, especially in the height of my marathon training.

-I bought a food scale and started being honest with myself about everything I was eating.

-I moved my macros (Carbs/Fat/Protein) around a little. My goals are around 150g carbs, at least 50g fat and as close to 100g protein each day. This is something that I don’t often achieve, but I try…

So, the big news.

 I’m there.

As of this week I am selling all of my pants on eBay. At my heaviest weight I was a size 6-8, 28 waist and Medium shirt, approx. 138-140lbs. For the last year or so I have been a steady size 2/26″. I have been slowly buying new jeans because all of mine were getting too big and it was super unflattering. Finally, finally I am a 24 or 25 inch waist, pant and an XS shirt. It feels weird to be here. I’ve been seriously dieting in some way since winter of 2006.

I know a lot of people out there think, OMG a size 24, this girl is too skinny.  I have heard all of the comments and I can assure everyone of my healthiness. Here is a photo for reference. I’m 5’2”, so what would look “too skinny” on someone else is just fine on my petite frame. I still have my beastly calves and muscular thighs, those will never go away. Ha.

Oh yes, you know you love the palatial bathrooms we have at work, ah the joys of working for a California Public University. 

Yesterday

I never thought I would make it to this point, but I am now smaller than I was even at the height of my disordered eating, I’m actually smaller than I ever have been, even in high school. I did this the healthy way, I worked hard, ate well and kept looking forward.

I don’t really know how to quit dieting and counting calories. It’s hard. This has been part of my life for so long. I’m really making an effort to relax a little, I know that I don’t want to lose any more weight so I am trying to figure out what “maintaining” feels like.

I’m proud and a little overwhelmed to be honest. What do I do now?

Training for races is pretty limited right now as I let my foot heal. I am sticking with my original plan of 3 weeks no running. I’ll just keep pushing at the trainer, and on long bike rides in hopes that that keeps me fit. I REALLY miss running though. I’ve got to get signed up for some races in the late spring/early summer or I will go crazy!

Any suggestions? Has anyone dieted, met their goal, and successfully maintained? I feel like this is just where my body will be from now on, but at the same time want to find a new focus, or goal, maybe I should take up volunteer work as penance for the 5+ years of self centered bs.

14 thoughts on “BIG NEWS!

  1. Cogratulations Ashley!! You look great and inspire me to lose those “last 5 pounds” I sometimes become complacent about. Do you think the intermittent fasting got you through the home stretch?

  2. Congrats on reaching your goal!!!! You look amazing!!!! I have enjoyed your times of honesty when it comes to your weight / food. It’s true, I feel like bloggers get so much heat sometimes for being honest but it’s YOUR blog. You deserve to say Hey, I did it – and you can too!!! Can’t wait until I can write my own post about reaching my ideal weight / size!

  3. congrats Ashley!!! you are beautiful on the inside, as well as gorgeous on the outside. Remember to love yourself always!! You look great! now help me! haha ♥

  4. I think you look amazing, healthy and slim – why would anyone hate on that? And you eat 1200 cals while a lot of girls starve! I would love to have your legs – would you be willing to share how much you weigh now? I am 5’2 and 110 lbs and I don’t have anywhere near your muscle shape – would you recommend losing another ten-twenty lbs?

    1. Thank you! To be entirely honest, I would say that most days I eat 1500-1800 calories, and one day a week (my longest workout day) I eat more like 2000 calories. 1200 is not enough for me with how much I workout. I would love to share how much I weigh now, but I don’t know haha. Scales cause me far too much stress so I don’t use them. I would imagine I am somewhere around 115. I would probably be closer to 110 at the height of my training this summer. The muscular shape is somewhat genetic, I have always had some monster calves and biceps 🙂 I would say your weight is the least of your worries. I always tell people that I wouldn’t care if I weighed 200lbs as long as I fit into my size 24s. If you want to tone, you have to eat! and lift weights. I would certainly not recommend weighing less than 100lbs, but that is always a personal choice. If you have more questions you can always email me. I’m not a doctor, but I have lots of experience. <3!

      1. Thanks for taking the time to reply and I will be e-mailing you for sure! I am totally inspired by your blog because it’s hard finding girls who are in the smaller range trying to lose weight. I am hovering between 110-112 and am no where near a size 24 jean frustratingly. I am also training for my second marathon and am having a hard time getting faster so that’s why I asked about getting to 100 or under. Hopefully your success will rub off on me!

Leave a Reply

