Love is Buying Your Girlfriend a Trainer

Wednesday workout:  60 min on trainer, 30 min Jillian Michaels, Ripped in 30

Friday workout: Planned 60 min on trainer, 30 min Jillian Michaels, Ripped in 30

Remember how I said I wanted a trainer?! P surprised me and had one shipped to our house overnight so I wouldn’t have to stress about workouts. <Love>

When I got home from work on Wednesday, the bike was set up and an episode of Mad Men was on the TV ready to be watched. I got a pretty decent burn from the trainer, I know there is way to increase the resistance other than on my bike, but I haven’t figured that out yet. Bottom line; this will be a great way for me to get a burn/watch crappy TV guilt-free/allow my injuries to recover for the next 6-8 weeks.

I thought about and chose some fitness goals for this year. I could hardly think straight about anything legitimate because Phil was studying for and then being grilled by his advisors for his major field exam. This was the last step before he was set free to write his dissertation and he read 80 books in prep for this beast of an oral exam. And he killed it 😀

Today (actually all week) it was BEAUTIFUL, so P picked up lunch and we went down to the beach on my break to grub down. I love getting out of my office for an hour a day, it seriously recharges me. If you are ever in the San Diego area, or at UCSD, eat at Croutons. Delish.

Ok, fitness goals. Around the end of February or beginning of March I am going to reassess these goals based on what my body feels like.  

Half marathon: I really, really want to PR this year. So basically 1:55 or better would be great.

Marathon: P and I want to stick with just one marathon a year. The training is a lot to take on while still maintaining a normal life(for us) so we plan to run the CIM in Sacramento this December. I’d like to shave a little time off of our first mary, and I think it’s totally doable.

Tempo Running and Strength Training: Start tempo running and keep strength training, it’s terrible but that simple… ugh.

sources

Adventure race?: Check them out here, if the opportunity for me to do one arises, I am so in! It’s like a triathlon, only way better. You trail run, mountain bike, and sometimes kayak your way through a course to various checkpoints as fast as possible. Oh, there is also no route, you use a map and compass. I need a mountain bike first…

Oh and P almost died of hypothermia while racing once, there is that. I don’t like thinking about it but you can… Read more about it here.

I’m happy with my weight right now, so while I will still be intermittent fasting (I really just enjoy eating larger meals later in the day) I am not looking to lose weight… I DO however, want to tone up quite a bit and get my body ready for swimsuits.

I got this copy of Women’s Health and dear Marissa Miller, please stop making us look bad. Also, I want her hair. Does anyone know how to make your hair wavy like that?!

Maybe if I want to look like Marissa I shouldn’t keep a drawer of chocolate at work… but French Toast Chocolate!?


For everyone who has NYResolutions that involve going to the gym, here is a great article from the Wall Street Journal that explains how to conquer the gym and not be that person everyone hates.

27 Rules to Conquering the Gym

I really like #11

11. Gyms have two types of members: Members who wipe down the machines after using them, and the worst people in the universe.

I’m a germaphobe at the gym. I’ll eat a piece of toast that falls butter side down on my kitchen floor, but I want to boil my whole body after working out on gym equipment; weird, I know.

TGIF!

One thought on “Love is Buying Your Girlfriend a Trainer

Leave a Reply

