And the Beat Goes On…

I QUIT RUNNING.

source

for now.

Tuesday workout: JM Ripped in 30, planned 90 min walk this evening

With all of the pain I’ve had while running lately, I’ve taken 5 of the last 10 days off. It didn’t help. P and I have made a plan. I will be taking a break from running for a while. Running in pain is not fun, not at all and it is taking both a mental and physical toll on me.

My life will consist of lots of biking, walking and Jillian Michael’s-ing. Yoga and spin classes may be thrown in for good measure. I have a 15k in March, and Ragnar in April so I need to focus on being healthy in the long term. I’ll still be working out 5-6 days a week, just now I will be living out my running dreams through my fellow bloggers.

*yes I know it’s a men’s bike, I’m not a fan of women’s mountain bikes… just sayin’

I am exciting to be biking more. P and I rented mountain bikes in Chico and I put my previous fears of Mtn. Biking aside and just went for it. We rented 29ers (the wheels are 29″ instead of the standard 26″ on a Mtn. Bike) and while mine was a little big for me, it was SO much fun. Eventually I will probably get a decent road bike and a decent mountain bike to go with my little vintage commuter bike.

Until I can drop a few thousand (nbd, right?) on bikes, I am looking into purchasing a trainer. This way, I can ride, workout and kick ass, all while watching TV. WIN.

Any suggestions or comments regarding trainers? I’m looking for it to have enough resistance to give me a good calorie burn and really that’s about it.

4 thoughts on “And the Beat Goes On…

  1. GOOD for you…injuries are no good and you have to know when to take a break! It will be better in the long run. In the meantime, my bootcamp has free Saturday workouts, so you should check that out sometime. I’m tabling running, but keeping up bootcamp and skipping exercises that hurt the knee. The ellipticals will be our friends…haha we should have a lunch elliptical date on campus! Hang in there!

  2. Hi!
    I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks now, but have yet to comment, but that feels creepy so…hi! Delurking. I’m Erin; I started blogging (and running consistently) this fall over at “just add tequila” and I’m still finding my way around the blogosphere. My husband and I bought a CycleOps fluid trainer last winter (I’m pretty sure it’s the Fluid2). He likes it a LOT, he used it a ton last winter…the only problem I have is that our mountain bike is really crappy and uncomfortable, so I don’t get on it too often. I spend more time on our treadmill. Bike issues aside, the trainer itself is really nice and provides a good workout. 29ers are great; we rented a couple at Acadia National Park last summer and loved them. I came *thisclose* to buying one in the spring but I didn’t go through with it…this year, for sure!

  3. Gah! I jusst got my hubby one for Christmas…it’s freaking amazzzzzzzing! I got a CycleOps Magneto. I blogged about it. 🙂

    You will love it!

    P.S. they make some badass women’s bikes these days, made for little people like us!

Leave a Reply

