Scorpions, Roadtrip Planning & Mile Dedications

Workouts: still doing lots of jump roping and strength training…

 AT least with Thanksgiving gone, it’s now time for Christmas everything. I decorated our little apartment. My favorite decorations are the Rat King which playes “Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy” because P took my to my first ballet, the Nutcracker, last Christmas, and our advent calendars. Who wouldn’t want to eat their way to Christmas via a chocolate calendar.

 Post decorating I was tired and decided to hit the sack, but first I needed some water. I went out to our kitchen and HOLYOMIGOD a scorpion was waiting to kill me.

 YES. This beast wanted me out.

 Not a chance my friend, P Money came to the rescue with my camera and his shoe.

 Close call…

Woo! Tomorrow P and I leave for Vegas! We will be driving straight from my office to the City of Sin. Dear traffic gods, no hang-ups, please. If all goes well, we could get in at 11pm-ish and have time to hit the town for a little while. Unless I am too tired… man up Ashley.

The Hotel: Rumor Las Vegas

I’ve taken the past week as a rest/taper period, life has been crazy and I’m dealing with a new IT band issue. My old goal was sub 4 hour. My new goal is run this biatch pain free.

I don’t want to say I was injured, because that sounds dramatic . I will say that whatever happened hurt like hell. I have never had a real injury, so resting and taking time off was new. It sucks, I was going crazy. I am going crazy. My leg feels great but I don’t want to try anything until race day.

P bought me these CW-X compression tights to help. He rules and I love him. He just likes my butt in spandex, pervo.

Goals for Sunday:

Run 26.2 without a walk break. I know, I know, lots of people take walk breaks and still run sub 4s blah blah blah. I just want to see if I can do it without stopping. That means double knots for the shoes.

Finish time of Oh eff that y’all. I am not setting myself up for anything. Finish time of 100 hours or less. Yes, that should do.

Attempt to eat an entire pint of Ben and Jerry’s post-race without puking.

Stay positive.

Wish me luck!

Dedication Miles:

Mile 20: Max. My best friend since I was 13. A shoulder to cry on in the toughest times and the first person to cheer me on in the best. I have never met someone who has truly believed I can do anything quite like you do. You have been such a role model, a huge part of the reason I made it through college in one piece. On the real you were present for my first 15 miler and your epic dubstep playlist will get me through the “wall” I hope.

Mile 21: Dad. This is the start of new ground for me. At mile 21 I will be on my longest run to date. I’m hoping I feel fabulous because I know you worry about my health and how much I run. You were there to save the day after P and I ran our first half-marathon, as we sat in the rain.  Now, just over a year later we are stepping up our crazy and trying to double that. I can’t say that I’m not hoping you might show up to have a beer with me after.

Miles 22&23: Oma and Opa. My only grandparents. 80 years old and taking 5 mile walks every day. You two are the epitome of healthy and I hope I have your genes. Visiting you in May was so much fun and seeing your relationship after 55+ years is so special. I appreciate everything you have done for me, and the work ethic you have instilled in me.

This is the final countdown! Peace out San Diego, at 5pm tomorrow I’m out!

One thought on “Scorpions, Roadtrip Planning & Mile Dedications

Leave a Reply

