TGIF

Let’s do a little training catching up …

Wednesday: rest day

Thursday: Planned 6mi, ended up running 8.5mi 🙂 

Friday: 3mi and 30min cardio strength are planned, as soon as I lose this barfy feeling– more on that

Yesterday’s run started out pretty rocky, but with the help of P (who was amazing), we got our tails back into it and ended up running 8.5 miles instead of 6. I felt really good by the end of the run and was SO happy that we got out there and did it. Sometimes pushing through the hard days feels even better than the easy runs.

*Photo taken yesterday at Swamis in Encinitas… EFF THAT!

We had plans to go kayaking, but they had to be rescheduled. There was a Great White cruising our water yesterday and a high surf advisory. I hate swimming in deep ocean water, so I can only imagine how much I would have freaked out if we had either 1) seen a shark 2) capsized 3) capsized and seen a shark!

Luckily my day wasn’t ruined because I had plans to meet with one of my best friends from high school who also lives in San Diego, and do dinner with P-Love. First we stopped by the post office so that I could snag some priority envelopes and P could mail some packages. The La Jolla Ladies looked at me with disdain as I swiped envelopes, um HELLO they are free until you mail them. Ridic. We also saw a schnazzy fender bender, driving your car through the streets of La Jolla Village is dangerous, those Bentleys are fueled by pure entitlement and they won’t stop for crap… crazies.

Dinner was at Karl Strauss Brewery and I had a decent salad, and half of Phil’s Oktoberfest beer. Kelly was meeting us next door at Whisknladle for happy hour. Whisknladle is so cute, and really creative. You have to be willing to try new things if you are going to eat there, like bone marrow and beef tongue, but everything I have tasted seems really good. I won’t lie– I just go for their amazing Sangria. I never realized it but this place is always packed with young women, P was the only man in the bar besides the bartenders. Nicely done, P.

We had an AMAZING time. Kelly is one of those friends who knew me through my really awkward stages (oh yes, I was even more awkward than this) and totally gets me. I drank far too much sangria, laughed a lot, sang Katy Perry at the top of my lungs on our way home and now I’m nursing a killer head/stomach ache. Success. Our waiter was amazing and only charged us for approx. half of our drinks, explained the importance of eating broccoli rabe and put up with our BS. Happy hours are quickly becoming some of my favorite hours.

After a breakfast of dry toast and yogurt, tons of water and some stretching I think I’m ready to tackle my run. Holy hell am I happy that it’s only 3 miles today!

2 thoughts on “TGIF

Leave a Reply

